The Things We Take for Granted . . .

Last weekend, I flew up and back from New York City for dinner.  Imagine that.  I flew approximately 1,500 miles round trip just to have a meal.  Now, before you start castigating me for being less than frugal, or even a bit flamboyant, suffice it to say that the whole adventure cost me nothing.  All expenses were paid by a publishing client, who insisted on  showing his gratitude for the work I did in bringing his book to fruition.  It was great to finally meet him in person, and we had a terrific time.  But I digress.

We’ve all heard the horror stories (especially lately) of the indignities suffered by “unwitting” passengers at the hands of the airline industry. To be fair, in some instances, the passengers were not totally blameless. In others, it was clear the airline was at fault. However, I’m not writing to condone nor embrace either the airlines or the passengers in question.  I am writing about the actual business of flying.

My earliest memories of commercial flight are associated with my dad. The occasion was a family funeral, sometime in the early to mid 1950s, and Dad was flying to Virginia to represent my mother’s side of the family. If memory serves me correctly, he flew out of LaGuardia Airport, which was probably less than a half hour from our apartment in Brooklyn, New York.  I’m pretty sure the plane he flew on was a DC-3, propeller driven aircraft, operated by either Eastern Airlines or Delta.

There were no covered ramps from the terminal to the airplane in those days. Passengers exited the gate, walked across the tarmac, and climbed a rollaway staircase up to the door of the aircraft. An image that remains imbedded in my mind’s eye is that of the two engines being started.  There was a whining sound, a loud, muffled pop, and then a burst of smoke as each of the two prop engines coughed roughly to life. The portable staircase was rolled away, and the plane taxied out from the terminal, headed for the runway. From airport to airport, it probably took two hours to complete the trip to Washington, DC.  There were no threats from terrorists, and you got your boarding pass when you purchased your ticket. No security checks, either. No waiting, no hassles. All baggage was checked in before you flew, and picked up when you arrived.

Contrast that to my recent experience of traveling from Asheville, North Carolina, to Atlanta, Georgia, and then on to New York City—and back. In all, there were four flights.  Going out of Asheville, it was suggested that I arrive at least one hour and fifteen minutes prior to takeoff. Returning from LaGuardia, the suggested allowance was two hours. At each of the originating terminals, I was required to remove “anything metallic” from my clothing, and to place each piece of luggage on a conveyor belt. I received a complete body scan at one location, while my baggage received a similar inspection at another one. After being reunited with my belongings, I proceeded to the gate, where I awaited takeoff in a comfortable lounge.

All-in-all, the actual time spent flying was probably less than six hours. The combined process including waiting time, connecting flights, and security checks was most likely closer to double that.  But I’m not complaining. After all, if I had to make the same trip by car, it would have taken me two days driving in each direction, with two nights spent in a motel. All four planes were comfortable—even if the seats were a bit narrow—and the personnel were extremely pleasant and accommodating. The cabins were pressurized and air conditioned. I had my own light for reading, and the seats had built-in head cushions. On the two longer legs of the flight, I was given a snack and a beverage, while enjoying access to free Wi-Fi (decent, but not great).

I don’t know about others, but I still find commercial air travel an amazing experience. Perhaps it’s because I only fly about once every three or four years, and have not become jaded. Call me stupid, but I love the feeling of being pressed into my seat by the force of those huge jet engines upon takeoff, and the roar of those same engines, when they’re reversed to combine with the brakes to bring the whole thing to a halt upon landing. Stop and think about it: You are flying along, seven miles or more in the air, reading a Kindle, listening to music on a blue tooth headset, and drinking a cranberry juice while munching on honey roasted peanuts. Does that sound like a nightmare? Or does it remind you more of a fantastic dream you might have had when you were a five-year-old kid like me?

Let those who drink too much, expect too much, or just plain ignore instructions to feud with the airlines. Me? I’ll just follow the rules, arrive in plenty of time, and enjoy the friendly skies. Can’t wait to do it again!


If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it with a friend, or reblog it on your own site. If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the lower righthand corner of the page. You’ll be asked to enter your email address and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return. I only post one per week, and I never share email addresses. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
Don’t forget to check out Deadly Ransom, the new Matt Davis mystery, available now in paperback and Kindle editions on Amazon.com.
About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in In my opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Things We Take for Granted . . .

  1. balroop2013 says:

    Flying! ha, don’t even ask when you have to fly 17 hours every year to meet your family, especially mother and if you add all those hours of security and waiting, the total adds up to almost 24 hrs!! All that excitement and adventure of flying M.E.L.T.S….. 🙂

    Like

  2. Only fly occasionally, but the experience never ceases to amaze me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane Raffo Nocella says:

    The airlines have created their own monsters. They overbook, cram in as many seats as possible with little regard for the comfort of the passengers sitting in them. There is little leg room. If you want to pay the extra $50 you can get a little more. There is a charge for everything from stale snacks to headphones. People ignore the rules for carry on luggage and the airline employees don’t enforce them. Boarding and deplaning would be twice as fast if carry=on baggage was the size it should be. Am I a cranky old 71 year old? Probably. Flying ceased to be fun years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

    • All of your points are valid, especially the business of people ignoring the rules and employees not enforcing them. I actually brought a violation to the attention of an employee (the individual in question had two personal bags – large ones – AND a large piece of carry-on luggage). The employee halfheartedly looked at the passengers luggage, shrugged her shoulders, and said, “Oh, that’s okay.” That passenger had the nerve to store the extra piece of personal luggage in the overhead compartment, thereby robbing someone else of a legitimate space. I guess because I don’t fly very often, I am more predisposed to ignore the minor inconveniences. But I hear you!!! 🙂

      Like

  4. I enjoy the heck out of it! 🙂

    Like

  5. allenrizzi says:

    We HAVE become jaded, having done the trip back and forth to Italy 35 times. However, we always comply politely all of the rules, sit quietly and eat our rubber chicken. I do remember fondly the feeling of excitement when we flew decades ago. However now we just want to get from A to B with as little hassle as possible. Fun it ain’t.

    Liked by 1 person

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.

