Finding the forest in the middle of the trees

Friendship is a complex matter.  It is not defined by simply saying hello and expecting a meaningful relationship to just naturally follow.  I have lived alongside some neighbors for years, without our so much as uttering more than a word or two to one another, yet feeling that we were friends just the same.  Still others have conversed with me across our property lines on many occasions, yet I felt no closer to them than the mailman or UPS driver.  There’s no accurate measuring stick for friendship.  It is difficult to define.  We know it when it exists, and intuitively understand when it doesn’t.

I remember when my stepson was in junior high school.  He would come home each day and inform us how one individual or another was his new “best friend.”  One day, after watching one “best friend” after another disappoint him or desert him, I sat him down and explained what friendship was all about.  I told him that in a lifetime, he would have many, many acquaintances.  Some of those relationships might actually evolve into casual friendships.  But true “best friends” are a rare commodity indeed.  In a lifetime, he might be lucky to have one.  If he were to have more than that, he could consider himself truly blessed.

There is an old saying that goes something like this: “You can’t pick your neighbors, and you can’t choose your relatives, but you can pick your friends.”  I have been blessed to have had many acquaintances in my lifetime.  Each of them has enriched my life in some fashion or another.  Most of them those relationships been situational, and have relied upon a common interest or involvement to sustain them.  Most fade through no intent or design, but as a natural consequence of life’s changing circumstances.  Sometimes acquaintances move away; sometimes we are the ones who move.  But friendships persevere, whether we are in close proximity with one another, or separated by hundreds or even thousands of miles.  I have been particularly blessed to have had quite a few friendships, each of them unique in their own way, and I have valued those friendships above all else in my life.

It’s almost impossible to know when an acquaintance will become a friend.  It is equally impossible to actively seek a friendship.  Finding these kinds of relationships is as serendipitous as winning the lottery.  “You pays your money and you takes your chances.”  The one constant in acquiring friendship is the willingness to take a chance, to be yourself, and to be open.  There are no guarantees that following that logic will yield results, however, doing so will at least make succeeding a possibility.  The rest is up to fate.

Bridal Veil Falls

Yesterday, I took a small step (actually 15, 791 actual steps) along the path to friendship.  My neighbor of nearly thirteen years and I went hiking in nearby Dupont Forest.  Prior to my stroke in October of 2015, we had barely exchanged more than a word or two in the eleven years we had lived as neighbors.  But as time progressed, we began to see more and more of each other as we passed by during our daily separate walks.  Gradually, we began to stop and chat.  Then, the chats became conversations.

Earlier this week, I called to ask him if he’d like to join me for a walk.  I left a message on his voice mail, but didn’t hear back that day.  To my surprise, however, the following afternoon, he rang my doorbell and invited me to go hiking.  We agreed upon a day and time, and yesterday we went.  In the three or so hours that we were together, a light seemed to come on.  Conversation ran the gamut from where we had grown up (he in rural North Carolina, I in the city of Brooklyn) to what foods were our favorites.  To my surprise, I learned that we both love sardines.  Could a mutual affinity for tiny fish be the recipe for friendship?  Hard to say.  But it’s a start.

Life is unpredictable, but that has never stood in my way of enjoying it.  In fact, it’s what makes it so interesting.  My neighbor and I are planning another hike next week, and I already know what I’m bringing with me.  Sardines.  If you’ve never tried them, let me recommend the King Oscar brand packed in olive oil.  They cost three times what most others cost, but they’re worth it.  Just make sure you get the ones marked “two layers.”  Those are the kind I prefer and the kind I’ll be sharing with my neighbor and possible new friend.  Hey, you never know!


If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it with a friend, or reblog it on your own site. If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the lower righthand corner of the page. You’ll be asked to enter your email address and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return. I only post one per week, and I never share email addresses. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Finding the forest in the middle of the trees

  1. balroop2013 says:

    My all time favorite topic Joe! but I have just a few friends! Here’s my take on friendship: https://balroop2013.wordpress.com/2014/07/08/friendship-why-are-some-friends-so-special/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane Raffo Nocella says:

    Nailed it! You described friendship perfectly. BTW My husband is a sardine lover too. He smashes them with a fork on crusty Italian bread (Is there any other kind?), and gives them a quick squeeze of lemon juice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Allie P. says:

    The weather certainly has been lovely for hiking recently.

    My son also reports having a multitude of best friends at school – so many in fact that I’ve ceased trying to keep up with them all. However he also has, in his words, a BFF, which I take is the next level up in best friendships. Luckily for us, his BFF is a neighbor and a really good kid so I am hopeful at this point that their friendship lasts longer than some of his more seasonal best friendships.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Agree on the topic of friends and the King Oscar “double layer” sardines. Have a few cans in the pantry at all times. Like the mustard pack, too.
    On the topic of friends, the ones most difficult to see disappear are our cousins. With the older generation gone, cousins are the glue that holds the family together. Many of mine seem to have failed to step up and began pulling away years ago. At this point, I don’t even know if some of them are still alive. I miss them and the hugs and laughs we once had.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Enjoyed your post, Joe. It really got me thinking about the treasured friendships I hold so dear. For me, it always comes down to nurturing–and that’s a two-way trail where everyone wins. I can count my acquaintances by the hundreds, but my dearest friends with single digits. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. allenrizzi says:

    Great post! Here’s my take from a blog two years old: https://rizziallen.wordpress.com/2015/06/26/friends/

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.