Honoring John Glenn, the Great Motivator

Astronaut John Glenn (Wikipedia)

Astronaut John Glenn
(Wikipedia)

A great American passed away quietly Thursday at the age of 95. John Glenn was a Marine pilot, an astronaut, a U.S. Senator, and a citizen of the world. But, beyond that, he was a motivator—at least for me.  No, he didn’t move me to become a “jarhead” (a medical condition excluded me from military service), nor did I ever dream of becoming an astronaut as a result of his feats. However, he and I have had a special connection ever since March 1, 1962, which was the day that New York City honored Glenn with a ticker-tape parade down the Canyon of Heroes—and, coincidentally, also the date that marked the only time in my life that I played hooky from school.  It was all John Glenn’s fault.  

mercury_friendship7_bassett_celestia

Computer generated image Friendship 7 (Wikipedia)

Looking back on the whole thing, I guess it was inevitable that it should have happened. But who could have imagined that it would be the pilot of Friendship 7 who would provide the impetus. After all, at the tender age of 16 (I wouldn’t turn 17 until the end of that month), there had already been scores of reasons for me to become a truant: rain, snow, sun, Elvis Presley starring in Love Me Tender. But none of those things had provided the motivation necessary to engender truancy.  It took John Glenn to make it happen. He had captured everyone’s imagination with his amazing orbital flight, and I just had to see him.

I did have help, though. It was longtime friend, Bill Bauer, who proved to be the lynchpin in the whole sordid affair (sorry, Bill, but the secret’s out). And I’d be a liar if I told you that I can remember all the details of that historic day, because I don’t. I think we traveled to Manhattan by bus and subway, and I have a shadowy memory of being in a restroom on the third floor of Saks Fifth Avenue, and throwing toilet paper out of the window. There is also a thin recollection of being on the street as the motorcade carrying the heroic astronaut turned a corner and passed right by us. Are the memories accurate? Probably not. But are they real? You betcha! I was there, and I’ll never forget it.  I’m sure I got into some kind of trouble as a result of my transgression, but whatever the punishment was, it was surely worth it.

All kidding aside, it was with sadness that I heard the news of Glenn’s passing on Thursday. I’m sure that I have watched The Right Stuff at least a dozen times or more. I even read the book by Tom Wolfe.  I still marvel at the man who hummed the Battle Hymn of the Republic as sparks from a burning heat shield flew past the little window of his capsule, as it rocketed through space.  I never cease to be amazed at the bravery exhibited by those original Mercury 7 American astronauts and all those who have followed in their footsteps.  If you haven’t seen the movie, nor read the book, I urge you to do so. They will give you a much needed insight into why the world is a little poorer today for the loss of John Glenn, and why it was he who motivated me to play hooky—that one and only time. John Glenn was just that special.

Godspeed, John Herschel Glenn Jr. You’re in very good company now.


If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it with a friend, or reblog it on your own site. If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the lower righthand corner of the page. You’ll be asked to enter your email address and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return. I only post one per week, and I never share email addresses. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: www.joeperronejr.com.
About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Honoring John Glenn, the Great Motivator

  1. balroop2013 says:

    I think 95 is a ripe age to go…beyond 82, it becomes quite challenging. May his soul rest in peace!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think there is a limit to how long we should live, as long as we have reasonably good health and all our faculties (and some money . . . lol). My uncle Ferdi passed away at age 99-1/2, and until the last 1/2, he was as sharp as a tack. Of course, he was a self-made millionaire, and never had any money worries once he was an adult, which certainly helped eliminate stress, the biggest enemy of all. (Based upon that criterion, I should have been gone a long, long time ago . . . lol.) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A wonderful post, Joe. Not only did you capture the essence of one of our American heroes, you made me chuckle too! I’ve just added The Right Stuff by Tom Wolfe to my TBR. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Allie P. says:

    I did want to be an astronaut when I grew up. I still do, though I’d settle for a single orbit as a space tourist. It was people like Glenn who taught us that even the most seemingly impossible goals are in fact achievable.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great memory and thanks for sharing it. Glenn and all these astronauts were on an important mission and collectively they helped to create our collective attitudes regarding our country. Nothing close to that is happening today.
    I was privileged to spend almost an hour one on one with Neil Armstrong years ago. WOW!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.