Life’s “Little” Pleasures

Normally, I post my blog on a Saturday, however, today’s post is a day late.  No big deal, you might say, and ordinarily you would be right.  But not today.  The reason I’m late is a very big deal that involves a very tiny person—my granddaughter.  You see, as I write this, my little bundle of joy is asleep in my house, right above me in what is soon to become my new office.  Becky and I had been anticipating my granddaughter’s visit for weeks, ever since my son and his wife announced that they would like to leave her with us overnight, while they enjoyed some much needed R&R in nearby Asheville (they’ll be by to pick her up around noon today).

It’s been a very long time since either my wife, or I, had the pleasure (and challenge) of watching over a two-year-old child.  For me, it’s been 37 years; for Becky it’s been 41.  It might as well have been a century.  So much has changed: the food in tubes, the portable room monitor, the high chair that straps into a regular chair, the playpen/crib without a gate to open.  It’s a whole new world.  We were excited and nervous all at the same time.  Who would change her diaper?  (Becky did.)  What would we do together?  (What didn’t we do?) How would she sleep?  (Like a baby!)  How would she eat? (Like a baby, too.)

But, before she arrived, there was something we needed to do that was extremely important: baby proof our house!  So, rather than writing a blog post yesterday morning, I installed childproof locks on all the kitchen and bathroom cabinets (I’d be darned if I’d be responsible for “an event”).  Then, Becky and I removed anything and everything that might possibly represent a danger to our little girl.  Innocuous items such as phone chargers, toothpicks, magic markers, scissors, etc., had to be moved to locations that were out of reach of those adorable little hands.  It took a while, but we got it done.

And then she was here!  And within a half hour, her parents were not.  They were gone.  And we were alone with “her.”  Becky shouldered most of the responsibility (especially the diaper detail).  Nap time came and went (I don’t know who slept more, my granddaughter or my wife).  At dinner time, I got to play “food games,” as my granddaugher and I mimicked each other while we ate.  Later, we marched around the kitchen and looked for our two cats (they were hiding).  But the big surprise came at bedtime, when Nana/Becky suggested that “you might like to put your granddaughter to bed.”  I broke out in a cold sweat.  Can I do it?  I wasn’t sure.  Was I able to do it? Absolutely!  For the first time in over 30 years, I got to read a bedtime story to a little person before I put her to bed.  It was awesome!  We counted cows, crayons, taxis, and numerous characters from Sesame Street, and even had our picture taken by “Nana” (unfortunatley, not for public display).

Later this morning (after a well-earned extra hour of sleep, courtesy of the end of Daylight Savings Time) I will prepare homemade blueberry pancakes for my little darling.  Becky and I plan to squeeze in as much quality time with her as we can before she leaves.  But inevitably her parents will arrive back from Asheville, rested and ready to pick up where Becky and I left off, and it will be time to say goodbye to my little darling.  No more will I hear that little voice saying, “Look, Pee Paw,” or “Nana! Nana!”  But don’t be sad for us.  She’s coming back for Thanksgiving.

We can’t wait!

Okay, that’s it; I’m falling asleep at the keyboard . . . zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.


If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it with a friend, or reblog it on your own site. If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the lower righthand corner of the page. You’ll be asked to enter your email address and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return. I only post one per week, and I never share email addresses. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: www.joeperronejr.com.

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life’s “Little” Pleasures

  1. balroop2013 says:

    Wonderful story Joe! You have detailed it so well and you seem to have enjoyed each moment! What a blessing!
    You know what? My grandchildren drag the dining chairs to reach wherever they want to…now that the younger one is 2, he has been giving a good competition! We have to be on our toes despite a childproof home 🙂 but we love it.

    Like

  2. Joe, you’re so lucky to live as close as you do to that little sweetie pie. What a sweet story!

    Like

  3. Allie P. says:

    Awwwwww such a sweet story! Yes, I definitely forgive the belated post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah, the wonder of it all! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. davidprosser says:

    Falling asleep at the keyboard is OK Joe, it’s what you sleep write and send while asleep it might not be.Last week I seemed to do a reblog of a post I don’t remember seeing when I was awake. In the past I’ve started writing a message that started well and ended up as unintelligible hogwash.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are so right. My son who’s the father of my granddaughter called to tell me I had made a mistake with my math regarding how long it had been since I was charged with caring for a two-year old. And, while I was correcting the error, I discovered that I had left out an apostrophe and an “s” too. Last time I write a blog post at 1:30 in the morning. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.