When is Bad “Too” Bad?

When I first considered writing a murder mystery way back in 1997, I had no knowledge of true evil.  Following a full day’s interaction with a New York Police Department homicide detective, that statement no longer applied.  I was given a half-inch thick folder called a homicide kit, usually reserved for detectives in training.  Along with the kit came a formidable challenge: to write a novel that didn’t sound made up—as many often do.  To my surprise, that was not as difficult as I might have imagined, based upon the contents of the kit.

small-1-front-cover-deadly-ransom-copyThe reason I bring this up is because, once again, I am hard at work writing another mystery, this being the fifth in the Matt Davis Mystery Series, called Deadly Ransom (projected release date Christmas 2016—pre-ordering for the Kindle edition will commence in early December).  In preparation for writing the book I have taken to listening to numerous true crime podcasts on my iPod when I take my daily walk.  After listening to some of these episodes, the abbreviated version of a quote by Mark Twain: “Truth is stranger than fiction” has taken on a whole new meaning, I can assure you.

casefile-true-crimeOne of the podcasts I subscribe to is Casefile True Crime, out of Australia. Maybe it’s the host’s thick accent, or just his way of describing the crimes, but I can’t get enough of it.  The case I listened to the other afternoon was called “the Catholic Mafia, and it dealt with serial misbehavior by a Catholic priest, a subject explored in my first Matt Davis mystery, As the Twig is Bent.  What blew my mind was not so much the nature of the crime, but the cover-up that kept the guilty party from ever being prosecuted.

sword-and-scaleAnother podcast that has caught my attention is Sword and Scale.  Its website even goes so far as to list “categories” of the horrific crimes that one can listen to, including: single murder; mass murder; torture; manslaughter; sex crimes—even “bizarre.”  Really?  I’m afraid you’ll have to be the judge of the meaning of that one.  I’ve actually stopped listening to this one, because it offended my delicate sensibilities. But, hey, it might be right up your alley.  You know your own convolluted mind betther than I.

true-murder_-the-most-shocking-killers-in-true-crime-history-and-the-authors-that-have-written-about-themThere are two others that are worth mentioning: True Murder with Dan Zupansky (not particularly well produced, but interesting in spite of its hosts ineptness behind the microphone; it tends to primarily explore someone-knows-somethingserial killers like Jeffrey Dahmer and BTK); and Someone Knows Something, out of Canada.  The latter focuses on one particular crime, generally unsolved, and follows its development over numerous episodes.  It is very well produced, and perfect for long walks or daily commutes.

framed-newfrontcoverasthetwigisbentAnyway, the next time someone tells me that As the Twig is Bent “was way too graphic,” I will remind them of Mark Twain’s famout quote* and point them in the direction of some of these podcasts.  I must confess that when I wrote “Twig,” I also thought that it was just too bad.  The fact that it reached the #24 best seller mark in the Kindle book store told me that sometimes too bad is never really that bad after all.

For a list of the 20 best crime podcasts Click Here.  Now go check out these podcasts I’ve mentioned—and compare them to As the Twig is Bent (it’s only $2.99 in Kindle)—and see which you prefer.

*NOTE: The full quote attributed to Twain is: “Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities; Truth isn’t.”


If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it with a friend, or reblog it on your own site. If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the lower righthand corner of the page. You’ll be asked to enter your email address and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return. I only post one per week, and I never share email addresses. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: www.joeperronejr.com.
And don’t forget to pre-order your Kindle copy of Manhattan North Narcotics: Chasing the Kilo Fairy, published by Escarpment Press. You’ll receive your copy on October 15th, the same day the paperback becomes available.
About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in In my opinion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to When is Bad “Too” Bad?

  1. KiM says:

    Congrats on being so close on publishing another book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. balroop2013 says:

    Loved that quote of Mark Twain. Nice to hear that you next book is almost ready. My best wishes are with you Joe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting and informative, Joe. Best wishes on your latest in the series! Tweeting this post along… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for sharing about some about some of your resources, Joe.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Allie P. says:

    I just started getting into podcasts. These seem intense, but oddly fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: When is Bad “Too” Bad? « Charles Ray's Ramblings

Comments are closed.