How ’bout Those Cowboys?!

It’s September, and pro football’s pre-season games are a fading memory. Now, it’s time for the main event—the NFL’s regular season—to begin. I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait for pro football. With age, comes inactivity, and I’m no different than any other senior citizen (okay, some might argue otherwise). That means there are 126 hours of free time per week to fill (that’s the 168 hours in a week, less the six, “wasted” hours per day spent sleeping). Lucky for us seniors, however, we can fill most of them by watching up to 16 games per week (not including re-broadcasts) on our flatscreen TVs.

“But, wait,” you say, “what about baseball? They haven’t even played the World Series yet.  To which I reply, “Baseball? Baseball?! We don’t need no stinkin’ baseball!” I gave up watching that most boring of sports a long time ago, somewhere around the advent of the so-called “wildcard” addition to the playoffs. Granted, I sneak a peek at a playoff game every once in a while (mostly when the New York Mets are fortunate enough to be included), but I can’t tell you the last time I sat through a regular season contest. So that leaves us with football.

carolina panthersUnlike nearly all of my friends, I am not drawn to the college version of the sport. It’s give me the NFL, or give me a good movie (even if I’ve seen it eight times already). I’m a Carolina Panthers fan, but it hasn’t always been so. My earliest love affair with professional football began with the New York Giants: Charlie Connerly and YA Tittle, on up until the Jets and Joe Namath captured my attention—and my heart. I bled Jets green until 1999, when I moved to western North Carolina. Even then, it wasn’t until Cam Newton came on the scene that I truly switched allegiances. (Imagine how conflicted I was when my sons treated me to a Jets-Panthers game, two years ago at Charlotte.) I pretty much rooted for whichever team had the ball. It was a classic, win-win situation.

And what about those Cowboys? Well, always a fan of the underdog (which the Cowboys have undoubtedly become), I actually find myself rooting for Tony Romo and company, unless they’re playing “my Panthers.”  Then, it’s “Go Cam!” or “Luuuuuuuuke!” (the chant reserved for Luke Kuechly, the “all world” linebacker for the “Cats”).

Ah, yes, life is good for this 71-year-old senior. Now where did I put my remote?


If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it with a friend, or reblog it on your own site. If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the lower righthand corner of the page. You’ll be asked to enter your email address and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return. I only post one per week, and I never share email addresses.
About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How ’bout Those Cowboys?!

  1. Fisherbob says:

    Leaves only baseball? Although the NFL is #1 don’t forget college hoops, curling and high school field hockey. Oh- and spelling bees, which ESPN seems to think is a sport. There’s plenty to watch that’s not politics. Thank heavens.

    Like

  2. balroop2013 says:

    We grew up watching cricket and tennis and still prefer them. Since morning Jaypee has been watching U.S. open and I can read my book calmly as he knows he would have to keep the T.V mute! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s my understanding that it can take several days to complete a cricket match. Is that true? On the other hand, if I record a football game, I can zip through it in about 40 minutes, which is how I watch most of them. Tennis has always been my first love; I began playing it at age 10, but had to give it up about 15 years ago due to a loss of balance. Still enjoy watching it though. (Say hi to Jaypee for me! 🙂 )

      Like

  3. Allie P. says:

    I am more of a college football fan (GO PACK!) than pro as I share many of the same sentiments to a lesser extent as Al Mosier (seriously, Roger Goodell must go), but either is preferable to baseball. :). However as I don’t see the NFL changing their ways anytime soon, I will still root for the Panthers when the game happens to be on.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The movie, “Concussion,” certainly bears out your thinking. I guess it is a matter of “You pays your money (or, in the case of the players, “takes the money”) and take your chances.” No amount of money could induce me to catch a pass over the middle, that’s for sure. 🙂

    Like

  5. Al Mosier says:

    Interesting. I’ve just given up the NFL. I’m totally disgusted with all this deflategate nonsense and the fact that they completely deny the concussion problem, going so far as to sweep the results of their own investigation under the proverbial rug. I will not return to watching NFL football or buying any of their merchandise or supporting them in any way until Roger Goodell is gone.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.