Thirty-Five Years? Impossible!

IMG_2280Next Thursday, on August 4th, my wife, Becky, and I will celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.  The irony is that when we married (just  six weeks and two days after we met), no one gave us any chance at all.  But somehow, we never had any doubts. We just  knew we belonged together. So, with no small amount of encouragement from my late mother-in-law, we boarded a standby flight to Charlotte, North Carolina, and were married by a justice of the peace in a little records room in the courthouse in York, South Carolina.

Ours was a blended family, and married life together wasn’t always placid; I dare say a good deal of it has been tumultuous.  But through it all, one thing has kept us together through much adversity: a deep, abiding love for one another.  That has never wavered.  In honor of this special occasion, I thought I would share with you two poems I wrote back in the day. One was written prior to my meeting Becky, and the other was written after we met. I hope you enjoy them both.

Impatient for Love

     I love thee,
Yet I know thee not.
     Thy face is,
Every face I see.

     My heart cries,
For want of you.
     My eyes are filled,
With tears of longing.

     I see thee,
And know thy heart.
     Yet to touch thee,
Is impossible.

      When will I meet thee?
How long must I wait?
     My time grows short.
I’m impatient for love.

For Becky

     I don’t pretend to understand,
Neither do I want to,
     The subtle bending of emotion,
The rainbow of the heart.

     We all need to be needed,
To be more than just a face,
     To be that final piece,
In someone else’s jigsaw puzzle.

     My world is a kaleidoscope,
Of Harry Chapin, spaghetti,
     Central Park, friends bearing gifts,
And unexpected phone calls.

     I like Harry and, of course, Central Park.
The spaghetti was delicious,
     The air conditioner a delight,
But, oh, the phone call . . .

I think you can see from the tenor of the second poem that the wants and needs expressed in the first poem were answered—and some!  Thirty-five years later,  the sound of her voice in my ear (even after a quarrel), just serves to reinforce the love that’s never faltered.  I am lucky to have her.

I love you, Becky.  HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!

XXXOOO,

“Zorba”


If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it with a friend, or reblog it on your own site. If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the lower righthand corner of the page. You’ll be asked to enter your email address and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return. I only post one per week, and I never share email addresses.
To learn more about me and my writing, visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Nostalgia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Thirty-Five Years? Impossible!

  1. mommermom says:

    Love! Ain’t it great? ♡♡ My husband and I married 28 years ago on 8/11 and also blended families with 6 kids in tow. You are correct, it wasn’t always easy but oh so worth it! People who meet us now might think it was a smooth journey but as we know, blended families have challenges. Read your bio. Very interesting. Nice to meet you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky Perrone says:

    I think that the thirty-five years we’ll have in just two days is certainly not enough. You’re not the only lucky person in this couple… I think of how I nearly decided not to bring the kids to the picnic, and wonder what life might have been if I had not changed my mind. It might have been easier, less complicated, less frought with the challenges the rocked us every time the wind changed.
    I might have had more money, less stress, a different life, but then, I would not have had you, and, my love, to paraphrase Robert Frost, that has made all the difference.

    Happy 35th anniversary, and on to as many more as we are granted. I love you now and always will. Love, Becky

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dave says:

    Well then – Happy Anniversary You Two. We have enjoyed knowing you for a few of those 35 years !

    Dave and Barbara

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KiM says:

    Happy Anniversary to you both ~

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ♫ HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO YOU BOTH! ♫

    Liked by 1 person

  6. balroop2013 says:

    Congratulations Joe and Becky…you make an awesome couple! Wishing you stay with each other for seven rebirths…a belief, according to which once you marry, taking seven rounds around the holy fire, you would be together for seven rebirths! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing those two poems, so different yet speak of the same emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is such a sweet tribute. Congratulations, Joe and Becky!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. That’s so sweet! I think your short courtship plus the longevity of your marriage means that you are soulmates. Congratulations to you, Joe & Becky on your upcoming anniversary!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Finding heart love for another is the most beautiful of relationships ever to exist! Congratulations Becky and Joe!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Al Mosier says:

    Nice, Joe! I’ve been married for 42 years and I feel exactly the same.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.