Pen Pals No More . . .

Author Balroop Singh (former pen pal)

Author Balroop Singh
(former pen pal)

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines a “Pen Pal” as “a person (such as someone in a foreign country) who you exchange letters with even though you have never met.”  It goes on to further define the term as “a friend made and kept through correspondence.”

In the age of the Internet, it is not uncommon to meet and be “pen pals” with many people, not only in your own country, but other countries around the world.  I can claim such relationships with people in Maine, Montana, Nevada, Tennessee, Virginia, and England—even as far away as New Zealand and South Korea.  Because I’m a writer, I spend a good deal of time corresponding with other writers on Facebook, and through the years many have become my “friends.”  (Say what you will about Facebook, but it has provided me and many others a means of interacting with people whom we’ve never met, other than through the exchange of words.)  Many times, I have tried to explain to my wife that, in spite of the fact that we have not met in person, I frequently feel a kinship with many of these individuals as though we lived next door to one another. Today, emails are the new equivalent of letters, the keyboards the pens.  As such, I am a pen pal to many.

Bloggers in particular are people who find a kind of sustenance in exchanging ideas and sentiments with others, even if only on a computer screen.  Commenting on one another’s blogs, we form relationships that become as real as any formed through face-to-face exchanges.  One such blog that I have “followed” for over a year is Emotional Shadows, written by Balroop Singh, a woman originally from India, now living in California.  She also follows my blog, and we have become pen pals.

As the winner of one of my recent poetry contests, Balroop had won a copy of one of my books, so I asked her for her “snail mail” address, and promised to send the book to her right away.  But one thing after another kept me from fulfilling my promise, until about two weeks ago when she messaged me and asked if I had sent it yet.  Somewhat embarrassed, I replied that I hadn’t, but would do so right away.  “That’s too bad,” she wrote, “I guess I’ll just have to wait until I get back from Asheville to read it.”  Asheville?  Balroop was coming to Asheville!  Quickly, I wrote back.  “I live in Hendersonville, NC.  It’s only 45 minutes away. Why don’t we get together for lunch, and I can give you the book in person?”  

And so it was agreed that we would meet in Asheville.  This had never happened before. I was actually going to meet one of my pen pals.  But I was a bit nervous.  “Come on, honey,” I said to my wife,  “Come with me.  It’ll be fun.”  (There was no way was I going to go alone.)

Rather than try to describe our meeting, why don’t I just let the accompanying photographs tell the story (the old “a picture is worth a thousand words” business).

New best friends

New best friends

Jatinder Pal & Balroop Singh

Jatinder Pal & Balroop Singh

IMG_2087

Real life friends!

Oh, one other thing: Balroop and I are pen pals no more!  That relationship has ended.  After all, she is more an image on a computer screen, and I am more than just someone whose words she reads in a blog.  I have a wife named Becky, and Balroop has a husband named Jatinder Pal, and he is quite a bit taller than I am—I know that because I have stood next to him in Pack Square in Asheville, while having my picture taken in front of the French Broad Chocolate Factory Lounge.  And Balroop and Becky are new “BFFs.”

Pen pals?  Pen Pals?  We don’t need no stinkin’ pen pals.  Balroop Singh and I are now full-fledged, real-life, true-blue friends.  And in case you’re wondering, we’ve already agreed to another get-together next year.  After all, that’s what real friends do!


If you enjoyed this post, please share it with a friend, or reblog it on your own site.  If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the bottom righthand corner of the page.  You’ll be asked to enter your email address, and you’ll receive an email confirmation in return.  I only post once per week, and I never, ever share email addresses.
To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: www.joeperronejr.com.  If you are a writer looking to self-publish your first book, check out my new publishing consulting company, Escarpment Press.

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Waxing Philosophically and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pen Pals No More . . .

  1. Hi Joe, I just popped over from Balroop’s blog. What an inspiring post. The photos say it all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: When You Meet An Author And Discover A Paragon Of Friendship… | Emotional Shadows

  3. balroop2013 says:

    Hi Joe,
    Wow! Thank you real life friend! We had a wonderful time together…it didn’t seem we had met for the first time…that is the magic of meeting through written word!
    I don’t consider myself a good conversationalist and most of the times stumble for words but you never let an awkward moment arrive as both of you complement each other even during a conversation. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was just as it should have been: old friends getting together, who hadn’t seen each other in a long time. There was lots to talk about, and you carried your end of the conversation admirably! We, too, had a wonderful time. We could not believe how quickly the time passed. Looking forward to next year! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Allie P. says:

    How wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful update! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awww, that is so sweet, Joe. An internet “pen pal” come to life. How nice for all of you.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.