Running for My Life

I learned the cold hard truth about aging in 1983, when I was a mere 38 years young.  Two years prior, I had been a newlywed training for the New York City Marathon.  I had registered, been accepted, and then forced to withdraw when I incurred a stress fracture in my right foot.  I was heartbroken.  At the time, I was running fifty five miles per week at a pace of seven minutes per mile. 

Me on race day 1981

Me on race day 1981 (age 36)

Truth be told, I had elected to run as a way to alleviate the tension that accompanied the divorce from my first wife in June of that year.  Four days after the decree, I met my present wife, Becky, at a Father’s Day picnic, and six weeks, two days later we were married.  But still I continued to run.  My new bride never understood the compulsion that drove me to arise at five in the morning for my daily run, leaving her alone in our bed.  “It’s all about the endorphins,” I would explain.  “I can’t live without running.”  The habit was hard to break; one might even say I was addicted—as are many runners.  Just ask them.

Fast forward two years.  I’m out for my daily run, nearing the end of a five-mile course, when I spot another runner up ahead.  He appears to be about my age, and runs with an easy gait, typical of practiced, long-distance runners. Gradually, I increase the tempo of my stride, figuring I’ll catch and pass him before I quit for the evening.  It’s a game I like to play, imagining myself a world class runner with no limits—and I always win. My heart hammers within my chest cavity, as I pick up the pace. My legs ache, and my lungs burn,  crying out for more oxygen.  Despite my best efforts, however, I haven’t gained a yard in the pursuit of my imagined opponent. He turns occasionally and looks over his shoulder, and I could swear he’s sneering.  Lots of luck trying to catch me! he seems to be saying in a silent taunt.  I press the pedal to the metal one last time, but there’s no gas in the tank.  I’m done.  Gradually I slow to a trot, then a walk, my chest heaving.  That’s odd, I think, I’ve never had this happen before. But then I’ve never been 38 years old either.

Me in 2016

Me in 2016 (age 71)

Fast forward once again, this time to the present. I’m training once again, only now it’s for a different reason altogether.  At age 71, I’ve entered the 5K race in the Four Seasons division of the North Carolina Senior Games.  My goals are twofold: one is to finish; the other is to break 36 minutes for the 3.1 mile race.  That’s an average speed of approximately 11:36 per mile, a far cry from my 1981 pace (back then, I posted a personal best of 19:17 for a 5K, or 6:18 per mile).

Fortunately, age doesn’t just bring aches and pains; in most cases, it’s also accompanied by an increase in wisdom.  Since having a stroke six-and-a-half months ago, I’ve changed my diet and lost nearly 30 pounds.  I run to to stay healthy.  Running—and finishing—the race will be a kind celebration of the hard work I’ve done to make myself healthier.  To that end, I’m already a success.  If I can achieve my secondary goal, it will validate the extent of my dedication.

The race is on May 3rd, in Fletcher, North Carolina, and I’m hoping my family will be there to cheer me on.  I hope you’ll keep a good thought for me, too.  After all, we old timers need all the help we can get.


If you enjoyed this post, please share it with a friend or reblog it on your own site.  If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “forward” button at the bottom righthand corner of the page.  You’ll be asked to enter your email address, and you’ll receive an email confirmation in return.  I only post once per week, and I never share email addresses.
To learn more about me and my writing, visit my website at: www.joeperronejr.com
About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Good health, Inspirational and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Running for My Life

  1. What do I think about your running? I think it’s fantastic! I am so proud of you and so glad you posted those pictures. The first one is the sexy devil I agreed to marry in six weeks and 2 days, with an aggregate contact time (some in person, most on the phone) of about 2 weeks. The second one is the sexy devil I live with now. You are a winner in my book. I love you. Becky

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m speechless. Does this mean we’re NOT getting divorced?
      I love you “desperately!” ♥️♥️♥️ I could never have made it without you, and you know that’s true!

      Like

  2. balroop2013 says:

    Wow! what a spirit! Bravo Joe…wishing you all the best. According to me you are already a winner and you know what I mean. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. KiM says:

    You go Joe! Good for you ~

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Allie P. says:

    How exciting! My hubby was just selected for the MCM in the fall. Time for him to start training again in earnest too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cheers! Have a great day, Joe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I read a book once on blood types. It said “O” blood types use physical exercise to relieve mental stress. “B” blood types use creativity such as writing to relieve mental stress. “A” blood types use yoga and meditation to relieve mental stress. I’m a “B+” blood type. I hate exercise and love thinking. Are you “OB” blood type, Joe? Smiles!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Richard Fuller says:

    You will finish the race. I know you will because you know you can. You are an inspiration for us old guys.

    Like

  8. davidprosser says:

    I’m rooting for you Joe.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Fatso40 says:

    Good luck Joe cant wait to hear how the race went. Oh and thanks for the inspiration

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jane Raffo Nocella says:

    I hope you will be happy with your efforts. You work hard at all you do, and i wish you good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joe and those like him inspire others to do what they can to improve their health. Not all will turn to running. But he holds a mirror for folks to see themselves and get started on something.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.