Just Who is in Charge?

One evening, as my wife and I lay in bed reading (in her case, playing a word game on her Kindle Fire™), I had a profound revelation.  It was something that had truly never occurred to me before.  Then, burdened with a hitherto unknown morsel of knowledge, I found that the need to share it was . . . well . . . overwhelming!  So, I turned to Becky and, with a completely straight face, said: “You know how careful we are about what we eat, and how we try to drink responsibly, and take great pains to exercise regularly . . .”

“Yeah,” replied Becky with a yawn.

“. . . and how we always get our ‘wellness physical’ every year like clockwork . . .”

“Uh huh.  (Just a hint of genuine curiosity had crept into her voice.)  So what about it?”

“. . . W-e-l-l-l . . . it just occurred to me that no matter how conscientious we are, no matter how much we take care of ourselves, when all is said and done—it’s still going to end badly.”  (I paused a moment, and waited patiently for the weight of my words to be fully processed.)  “So whatta ya think?”

Becky dropped her tablet and sat up straight against the headboard.  “Gee, I never thought about it like that.  That’s kind of depressing, don’t you think?”

“Actually, I think it’s kind of amazing,” I smiled.

“In what way?”

“Well, maybe we’ve got it all wrong.  Instead of wasting our time and energy on . . . “

And so began an hour-long discussion about life, death, health, quality of life, and so forth.  I think we both concluded that the old “eat, drink, and be merry” rule would henceforth apply. Gradually we both ate and drank (mostly ate) and gained weight.  Life was great.  But then things changed.  First came Becky’s breast cancer (more than seven years ago), and last October, I had a stroke. Things have changed rather drastically.

Ironically, I find myself spending more and more of my time, energy—and resources in what might appear to be a futile attempt to alter what was already determined that historic evening as a foregone conclusion: we’re all going to die.  I measure my food portions (using a digital scale that’s calibrated in both ounces and grams); I keep track of the number of steps I walk with a Fitbit™; and I regularly take my blood pressure readings with a sphygmomanometer (try saying that rapidly three times in a row).  I dutifully drink the recommended eight glasses of water per day, and try (unsuccessfully) to get my eight hours of sleep each night.  But, why?

Why do I do what I do when I know darned well that it probably won’t change a thing, and for sure won’t stop the inevitable from happening?  Seems rather silly on the face of it.  The answer is simple: because I like living; I like being in the physical world with my family and friends, doing silly things like playing cards, watching movies, eating great meals—and I don’t want it to end ONE SECOND sooner than it has to!

When I had my stroke back in October of 2015, I had a little chat with God as I traveled by ambulance to the hospital.  I told Him that I was ready to go if he wanted to take me, but that I would really like to stay here on Earth a little longer—perhaps long enough to see my new granddaughter walk, or maybe talk, or maybe start school, or maybe . . . well, you get the picture.  I acknowledged that whatever He wanted to do was fine with me (after all, He’s in charge).  But I also assured Him that whatever happened to me down the road would only happen because He wanted it to and NOT because I didn’t do what I needed to on my end.  And that’s how we left it.

So far, so good (thank God!)

Peace, love and happiness to you all.


If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to “like” it, share it, or even re-blog it on your own website or blog.  If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the bottom righthand corner of the page.  You’ll be asked to enter your email address, and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return.  I only post once per week, and I never share email addresses.
To learn more about me and my writing, visit my website at: www.joeperronejr.com.

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Good health, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just Who is in Charge?

  1. balroop2013 says:

    Joe, It won’t end a ‘SECOND’ earlier than the will of the Commander! As you say…He holds the whip! I liked your witty conversation with Him…all accountability lies with Him. So eat, drink and be merry! Whatever is left is the bonus and I am grateful that He has provided it to us. 🙂 Stay blessed and have a blessed weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Allie P. says:

    I try to take care of myself more to minimize the risk of being a burden on my family and to set a good example to the kids than thinking it is some sort of way to avoid the inevitable

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What we tend to forget is that we are here for God’s needs of us and not our needs of God. To repay God for the gift of life, we need to take care of ourselves and add light to all of our surroundings. There is so much darkness in this world that God needs each one of us to help promote love and peace on Earth.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dave says:

    Your are absolutely correct !!!
    But there are a few (non-time consuming, such as taking pills) that you should continue doing.

    Dave

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The quality of life while living is what matters and seems to be something we can influence through making good choices – as you have. Length of life is another issue and one we do not control.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.