If It Bleeds, It Leads . . .

Okay, okay, I tricked you, right?  This post isn’t about tabloid TV journalism, it’s about poetry. A couple of months ago, I ran a poetry contest, and the response was terrific!  So, here’s another opportunity to submit your best work, and to have it published in a future blog post. If a poem is selected as the winning entry, it will be published along with a guest interview with its author.   The winner will also receive a signed copy of my most recent Matt Davis mystery, Broken Promises.

If you have friends who enjoy poetry, please share this (or re-blog it on your own site).  And, if you’ve never written a poem, now is the time to start.  To put you in the mood, I thought I’d favor you with a couple of my own poems: For Becky and Patience.

Good luck!

May the best poet show it, and let everybody know it!


For Becky with shadow


Patience 2

 

 RULES

  • Poems may not contain profanity or graphic sexual references
  • Entries should be no longer than 200 words
  • Poems may be rhyming, haiku, or free verse
  • All poems must be original works, and written by you (duh!)

Entries should be E-mailed to: joetheauthor@joeperronejr.com, no later than midnight, March 13th.  Please include your email address and mailing address with your entry.  Winner will be notified via E-mail by March 31st.  (Please, only one poem per person.)


If you enjoyed this post, please share it or re-blog it on your site.  If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the bottom righthand corner of the page.  I only post once per week, and I never share email addresses.  To learn more about me and my writing, visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com. 

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If It Bleeds, It Leads . . .

  1. balroop2013 says:

    Hi Joe, I didn’t know you are a terrific poet too! Loved those poems…’rainbow of the heart’…wow! what a beautiful choice of words! I would say you must share more of your poetry. Thanks for a wonderful post, bubbling with emotions.
    I would be sending my poem for your consideration. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.