Movies That Ask the Question: “What if?”

There’s a reason that movies like It’s a Wonderful Life, The Wizard of Oz, and A Christmas Carol resonate so thoroughly with moviegoers.  It’s because they all ask the same basic question: What If?  “What if I could start my life again?”  “What if I could have a second chance to do things right, would I?”  “What if I could go back and find that special first love I abandoned so many years ago, would I marry her?”  “If given a second chance at life, could I be a better person?”

Don’t say you’ve never asked yourself at least one of those questions; we all have!  Most of us leave them unanswered, preferring instead to let the permutations play out in our minds, rather than take a chance on pursuing an answer.  And that’s probably as it should be.  I’m a firm believer that life unfolds and happens as it does for a purpose.  We’ll never know that reason in our lifetime, but we can hope that someday—in another life, perhaps—it will all be made clear to us.  In the meantime, we need to be content with the hand that life has dealt us.

To the list of films named above, you can add another terrific film that deals with the question of “What if?”  It’s Hector and the Search for Happiness.  Why I never heard of this wonderful film is a mystery to me.  However, I was fortunate enough to stumble upon it on the Netflix site recently, while looking for a movie that both my wife and I could enjoy—without fear of having it ruin the pastoral mood of the evening.

The film stars a British actor named Simon Pegg, who has appeared in such films as Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol; Star Trek into Darkness; and Star Wars: The Force Awakens).  Additionally, his voice has been heard on the soundtracks of many notable films like The Adventures of Tin Tin; The Chronicles of Narnia; and Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs.  Hector features cameo appearances by several other talented actors: Christopher Plumber (The Sound of Music, etc.), Toni Collette (About a Boy, The Sixth Sense), and Stellan Skarsgård (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo).

Hector is a psychiatrist, involved in a longtime involvement with Clara (Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl; Pride and Prejudice; and Jack Reacher).  Hector’s practice is boring, and his relationship with Clara stale—mostly due to the fact that Simon wants marriage and children, and Clara seemingly desires neither.  One day, Hector decides to put his life on hold, and takes off on a whirlwind trip around the world, ostensibly in search of the meaning of happiness—or, more accurately, its meaning for him.  His quest is complicated, however, by the fact that he has never come to grips with an unfinished relationship between a former girlfriend, Agnes (Collette), and what might have been if . . . well, you get the picture.  His travels take him to China and Africa, among many other locales.  How it all unfolds is played out in delightful fashion, as Hector experiences more of the world than he bargained for.

Hector and the Search for Happiness is available streaming from Netflix, and is also available on DVD and Blu-Ray.  I highly recommend it.  Anytime you can find a movie that not only makes you laugh and cry, but which also asks the question, “What if?” . . . well . . . how bad can it be, right?  Happy viewing!  And make sure you’ve got plenty of tissues handy.


If you enjoyed this post, please feel to share it or re-blog it.  If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the lower righthand corner of the page.  You’ll be asked to enter your email address, and you will receive a confirmation email in return.  I only post once per week, and I never share email addresses.  If you’d like to learn more about me and my award-winning Matt Davis Mystery Series and other books I’ve written, please visit my website at: www.joeperronejr.com.

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in The movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Movies That Ask the Question: “What if?”

  1. KiM says:

    I love movie recommendations. Thank you. I’ve just heard of vidangel that I may look into too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I find that I am pleased with my life, as it has been and has become. I learned so much from the hardships and the joys. If we do venture back to Earth for another life of continued learning, I believe that I could handle anything, as long as I am loved and can give love in return. I would want it to be an understanding love, for that allows each person to be who they are and become all that they wish to be. Won’t it be interesting, when we are on the other side one day, and hopefully, see the meaning and purpose of life on Earth. Our eyes may become big as saucers in amazement, and our mouth dropped opened wide in the wonder of it all. We may truly finally say, “OMG” with the intended meaning. Smiles!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great article. Thanks for posting this, Joe. I’m definitely going to add this to my list on Netflix to watch.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.