Poetry Contest Winner: The Wolf

A couple of weeks ago, I offered a free, signed copy of Broken Promises: A Matt Davis Mystery to the one who submitted the best poem, and I promised to publish it here on my blog.  The winner is author Mariana Llanos, and here is her poem.

The Wolf

My yellow eyes stare at you from the dark.
     My crinkled snout hides my furious teeth,
While my mouth waters
     At the very smell of you.
I’m lurking, I’m waiting.
     Preying on your animals
Preying on your children
     Preying on you.
That’s who you want me to be.
     Your stories write me big and bad,
And you have made up your mind.
     Turn around, man.
Turn around and see.
     Look at your reflection.
Because the ferocious beast
     Pulling the trigger is you,
And not me.

Tristan Wolf

Tristan Wolf

Photo Credit Steffanie Hailey

Photo Credit
Steffanie Hailey

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Mariana Llanos is a Peruvian born writer who has written stories since she was young.  Her first book, Tristan Wolf, was published in 2013.  “I first started writing poems and then moved on to short stories.  When I was at school I liked to adapt classic plays like Hamlet or Faust and make them into comedy skits.  Then, my friends and I had a great time performing them at school functions.  I love art in all its forms.  I not only write for children.  I write for whoever wants to hear a story with a heart.  Now that I have a family, I write stories that I know my children will read.  I put a lil’ bit of them in my characters and a lil’ bit about myself but mostly, my characters come from deep inside my imagination.

The Wanting Monster

The Wanting Monster

 I sometimes think that I have little people living inside my head and, from time to time, they take over and command me to tell their story. 
My hope is that children and grown-ups will be inspired and entertained by my writing.  If I put a smile on your face today, then my job is done.”


Here are Mariana’s social media links:


 Check out my website at www.joeperronejr.com to learn more about my writing and my books.  And don’t forget, from now through December 31st, all four paperback editions of the Matt Davis Mystery Series are ON SALE for only $12.95.  There’s still time to order for holiday gift giving.


If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to share it or re-blog it.  If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “Follow” button at the bottom righthand corner of the page.  You’ll be asked to enter your email address, and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return.  I only blog once per week, and I never share email addresses.

 

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Guest Post, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Poetry Contest Winner: The Wolf

  1. Tom Gould says:

    Very good. I just finished writing a poem this morning about a wolf’s relative but mercifully it did not have the same title. Is there anyway I could publish some of my work on here
    Tom Gould

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tom, I will probably run another poetry contest in the not-so-distant future. Stay tuned to my blog for an announcement. I must say I was surprised by all the interest in poetry. Just shows to go you that it ain’t dead yet! 😎

      Like

  2. marianallanos says:

    Reblogged this on Scribbles on the Wall and commented:
    A few weeks ago I found out about this cool poetry contest on fellow author Joe Perrone’s blog. I submitted my poem The Wolf, and guess what… it WON! Chick on the post to go to Joe’s blog where the poem is featured.
    🙂

    Like

  3. Congratulations, Mariana! A unique and thought-provoking poem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. balroop2013 says:

    Hi Joe,

    That is a very profound poem with a subtle message. Thanks for sharing it. ‘That’s who you want me to be’…speaks volumes about people and their demeanor besides commenting on real wolves and who make them! ‘Look at your reflection’ nails it all! Just few words but they embrace humanity!!

    Who decides about the best poem? When are you holding the next contest? Hope you would invite me as all my poems are THE best in my eyes!! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. marianallanos says:

    Joe, I’m so thrilled you choose my poem as a winner. I hope its message nests I people’s hearts. I’ll look forward to reading your book. Thank you again!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Contest was a great idea. The winner had a powerful message in her poem. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.