Marketing to Hollywood

I thought this might be helpful to any of my writer friends with screenplay writing aspirations.

Big Sky Writer

I remember the first time I wrote a screenplay. I was so happy that I finished what I thought was an outstanding story.

I printed out my 120 pages, used my three-hole punch to punch all the pages, used the appropriate ACCO brass brads to secure it to the cover, and there it sat on my desk.

That’s when it dawned on me.

Even though the script was finished, it wasn’t going to get read sitting on my desk.

That’s when I was introduced to this thing called marketing. Producers, agents, and managers were not lining up at my front door asking if they could read my script. It was my job to find them, pitch them, and try to persuade them to ask to see my story.

I won’t go into the many ways I tried to market that first script but I do want to share one of the…

View original post 78 more words

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.