Count Our Blessings . . .

Sorry that my post is a little late this week, but as Henry Fonda’s character said in On Golden Pond to his daughter’s new husband, “So, you’ve got a good excuse then,” when told that the fellow didn’t visit his parents, because they were both dead.  I’m not dead, but as some of you may already know,  I had a little stroke early this past Friday morning. What I didn’t know then—that I do know now—is that there is no such thing as a “little” stroke.  (It has taken me over 20 minutes to type these four or five sentences.)

I will post further on this subject in the future, but today’s post is about something entirely different.  It’s about unconditional love—that special love reserved primarily for family members and spouses.  Rather than go into a lengthy explanation, however, I would rather have you read this very special “guest” post, which should make things much clearer.

“As I sit at the computer on this Sunday night, I begin to surf the web before I head to sleep. My wife and I have just finished watching the Season Premiere of Homeland and I just feed our dog her evening snack. I am listening to the wind of the storm that has plagued us for the weekend.

Before I close up shop, I peruse my Bookmark Bar in my web browser. I have my Dad’s Blog bookmarked. I click it and notice that there was no new update for Saturday, October 3rd. If memory serves correctly, this is his first missed post in a long time or possibly ever. So, let’s see if I can rectify that for him. Allow me a moment while I fire up Dad’s old turntable and put on some Jimmy Buffett for inspiration.

My name is Matt Perrone. I am Joe’s youngest son. I live in Charlotte, NC with my wife, my 10-month old daughter, and my 7-year old dog. I am an IT Quality Assurance Analyst with a long past of previous careers too long to list for this blog post. Like my Dad, my creative side has led me to the arts. I play guitar and other instruments and try to perform with my band when the time permits. When the mood strikes, I enjoy writing and recording original music. However, lately, I’ve been more focused on raising my daughter.

On Friday morning, I received a call from my older and only brother, David. He let me know that Dad was heading to the hospital but not to worry until we hear more information. When I eventually heard from my Dad a few hours later, he filled me in on what was going on. I’ll let him fill you in if he chooses later, but needless to say, his words began to open my eyes and think more about family.

The next day, my daughter and I popped in to surprise my brother and his wife. We spent a few hours with them just hanging out. We live only about 20 minutes away, but do not get to see each other as much as I’d like. Unfortunately, life just gets in the way. I need to make a better effort on my end because it’s silly to be this close and not see each other more often.

Today, Sunday, I spoke with my Dad, as he was heading home. He is doing better and it was great to hear from him. He told me all about what was going on with him health-wise while talking to me about the Jets and the Panthers. I sent him pictures and videos of his granddaughter, which brightened his mood.

We all get older every day and probably don’t take care of ourselves as best as we could, but with a few lifestyle changes, tomorrow is right around the corner. I know my wife and I are working together to get back to a better lifestyle. We have created a contest using our Fitbit and set goals and prizes for each other. For example, the one with the least steps one week will have to wash all the baby’s bottles.

Well, I am reaching the end of my unsolicited guest blog entry. Let me just say, every day is a gift. Spend that time with family, friends, and loved ones. Don’t forget to tell them you love them and try to let go of grudges; they’re not worth it. It’s ironic, I’m writing all of these clichés and what Jimmy Buffett song just came on? “Clichés

We love you, Dad (Grandpa). Get well soon.”


(NOTE FROM JOE: I am doing very well, and God willing, I’ll talk to you all next week.)

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Guest Post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Count Our Blessings . . .

  1. Just saw all these wonderful comments, and I am truly overwhelmed. Thank you ALL for your thoughtfulness and encouraging words. I am truly blessed. Just a quick update: I have been put on a statin (Lypitor) to bring down my cholesterol, along with an aspirin a day. Some major lifestyle changes, too, primarily dietary. I have always exercised, but am/WAS a chocoholic and major snacker. All that is history. Lucky for me, I LOVE all the “good” stuff I need to eat in order to be healthier. I love fish – even sardines. And the same can be said for fruits, vegetables, and whole grains. The biggest challenge will be to control my Italian temper, and to resist doing too much too quickly.
    I hope to keep blogging, perhaps with some occasional assistance.
    Once again, bless you all for your friendship.

    Ole Joe

    Like

  2. Joe – how great of your son to take over temporarily. I’m so sorry to hear about your “little” health problem. Knowing you, you’ll be back in true form before we know it. Our thoughts and prayers are with you. Ralph and Mary

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Allie P. says:

    Yeah, I would say you had a pretty solid excuse. Here’s hoping for your full recovery.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Prayers for a speedy recovery, Joe. Such a thoughtful reminder from Matt that we all need to check our priorities and get them in order. Best to you and your family. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gene says:

    Get well soon Mon Ami, The fish are waiting for the world’s greatest fly fisherman (no I did not say Liar fisherman) ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dick Fuller says:

    Joe
    Sorry to hear about your “little ” episode. Your son filled in very capably for you. Lots of love in his message. Remember I am just over the hill ( no pun intended ) and I am ready to ride if you need me. I run errands,feed cats and make a mean gin and tonic. Just holler if I can help.
    Praying for you, my friend.
    Dick

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sending prayers your way, Joe, that you’re back up to speed in no time. A special thank you to Matt for filling us in. Your words offer food for thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Loretta Ramey says:

    Hello Joe I pray that you are ok and recovering well I will keep you in my prayers God bless and keep you. Loretta Ramey

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jane Raffo Nocella says:

    Joe, Matt has done a wonderful job filling in for you. I’m so sorry to hear of you stroke, but I am glad you are doing well. Your son’s last paragraph says it all. Most people make excuses as to why they’ve lost contact with old friends or why they’re too busy to visit or call. After a friend or family member is gone…It’s too late to say “I love you and you are important to me.” You have passed much on to your son, including your gift for writing and a wonderful appreciation of life. I guess Jimmy Buffet fits in there too! Feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. My thoughts are with a good buddy, a fine writer, and a sensitive soul – YOU! Take good care of yourself and keep us all posted. Jack P

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.