Home, Sweet Home . . .

Repeat after me: “There’s no place like home!  There’s no place like home! There’s no place like home!”  I don’t know who first uttered those words, but I’m sure most of us can remember where we first heard them.  They were spoken by the character, Dorothy, in the classic film, The Wizard of Oz.  The word “home,” had a very special meaning in that movie, just as the phrase itself often conveys a specific mindset we adopt when we’ve been away from home for just that “little bit too long.”  In some instances, it might be just a few days; in others, it might be a year or more, as in Homer’s, The Odyssey. The important thing is that, when we need it most, home is always there.

My wife, Becky, recently returned from a twelve-day sojourn that included eight days spent abroad in Scotland, a place she had always wanted to visit.  The remaining days were divided equally, at opposite ends of the trip, with her son, Jared, in their home state of New Jersey.  

Copyright: David Kay Shutterstock

Copyright: David Kay
Shutterstock

Upon arriving in North Carolina yesterday afternoon, the second sentence Becky spoke was, “It’s good to be home.”  (I will leave the first sentence she said to your imagination.  Hint: it was accompanied by a hug.)  Scotland was nice—terrific even—for Becky, but after nearly two weeks away, there simply was “no place like home.”

There have been many famous lines written about the topic of home. There was even a movie called Coming Home that dealt with the subject on several different planes.  A good deal of literature, whether in poems, novels, or plays has explored the concept and importance of home.  Many of us were introduced to these works as students in English literature courses in high school, or in college.  The words about home that have always resonated most with me were written by my favorite poet, Robert Frost, in his poem The Death of the Hired Man.  They are both simple and profound:

“...Home is the place where, when you have to go there,
     They have to take you in."

Unfortunately, for a growing number of people, today, those words often ring hollow. The reasons are varied: divorce, mental illness, death of a partner, loss of a job, or even drug addiction.  Regardless, there are too many men and women who find themselves without any place they can truly call “home.”  So, although you might be tempted to take yours for granted sometime, always remember Dorothy with her eyes tightly closed, clicking her heels together, and reciting those famous words.  Take time to thank God that, like Dorothy, you, too, truly have a place called home.  There’s no place like it, I assure you!


Do you have a favorite poem, book, or even a movie about the subject of home that’s special to you?  Won’t you please share it with us?  We’d love to hear about it.


If you enjoyed this post, please share it with a friend, or feel free to re-post it on your own blog page.  If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button at the bottom righthand corner of the page.  You’ll be asked to enter your email address, and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return.  I only post once per week, and I never share email addresses.

 

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Waxing Philosophically and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Home, Sweet Home . . .

  1. Grateful… There is no place like home! 🙂

    Like

  2. Although I have moved 20 times in my life (by my own unofficial count), I have always been blessed with the ability to make wherever I am at the moment my home. I believe that is due in large measure to the importance I have always placed upon my human contacts versus my material possessions. Like you, I cannot imagine what these poor refugees are going through. Hopefully, most of them will be able to maintain the human contact that will sustain them.

    Like

  3. These words ring true for those of us who have an adequate and safe domicile. Yet, for many around the world, these words could be revised to read, “there is no home place.” I am speaking of the hordes currently roaming around Europe seeking to escape the countries they once called home. I cannot imagine what that must be like.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.