A Very Special Father’s Day

My father, Joe Perrone Sr.

My father, Joe Perrone Sr.

I’d like to wish a Happy Father’s Day to all the followers of my blog, young and old, who happen to be fathers.   Being a father (or a mother) is a special gift from God, and I will always be eternally grateful to have been blessed with that privilege.  My father was a very important part of my early life, and I think of him every time the holiday rolls around.  He was taken from us much too early, and I miss him, and think of him often, especially on Father’s Day.

For me, this Father’s Day was unlike any I have ever experienced, because it was my first as a septuagenarian (I turned 70 in March)—but more importantly, because it was also my very first Father’s Day as a new grandfather.  That amazing event occurred last November, when my youngest son and his wife presented us with a beautiful baby girl: their first child, and my first grandchild.  Since it was the first Father’s Day for the three of them, we all agreed that they should spend it together, as a trio.  I would be spending the day with my oldest son and his wife, who arrived yesterday, around noon, to spend the weekend with my wife and me.

My oldest son and I have made it a custom to watch as much of the US Open golf championship together as possible each year—the final round is always played on Father’s Day—and this year was no exception.  So, we spent most of yesterday doing just that, sitting on our butts alongside one another in the double recliner, gin and tonics in hand, and plenty of snacks nearby, watching golf.  We had a ball.

The holiday itself got off to a great start today, when, first thing this morning, I was treated to a FaceTime “visit” from my other son (the new father) and my granddaughter (who appears to be teething).  He and I wished each other happy Father’s day, and then turned the stage over to my granddaughter.  For the next fiver or ten minutes, we were treated to the sight of her alternately cooing, fidgeting, drooling, smiling, and crying, all while apparently completely oblivious to her father and me.

Because today was my special day, and because I love to cook, I was “permitted” to prepare dinner.  I made Italian sausage sandwiches with onions and peppers, smothered in tomato sauce.  The two men watched a little golf, and the ladies gabbed a bit, and then it was time to eat.  After dinner, we enjoyed a birthday cake that I had had made for my wife, whose birthday is on Tuesday, and before I knew it, the “kids” had to hit the road.  My wife and I stood in our driveway, and waved good-bye to them as they drove away—and, just like that, the day was done.

I hope all of you enjoyed Father’s Day as much as I did, because this one—at least for me— was very, very special.


If you enjoyed this post, please be kind enough to share it with a friend, or re-post it on your own blog.  If you’d like to subscribe to my blog, just click on the “follow” button located at the bottom, righthand corner of the page.  You’ll be asked to enter your email address, and will receive a confirmation email in return.  I only post once per week, and I never share email addresses.

 

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Very Special Father’s Day

  1. Nice story, Joe. And thanks for sharing the recipe – I’m anxious to try it.

    Like

  2. Yolanda Gernant says:

    Glad you had such a great day! Do you mind sending you sausage & pepper recipe to me? Yo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Here’s the recipe for all to enjoy. This really isn’t so much a “recipe,” per se, as it is a step-by-step set of “assembly” instructions:

      INGREDIENTS (To serve 4-6 people)
      3 medium-size green bell peppers
      2 large Vidalia (or other sweet) onions
      8 links sweet Italian sausage
      2 qts. prepared spaghetti sauce (I like Prego meat flavored)
      6 torpedo style Italian rolls (about 6″ long)
      3 or 4 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
      Pam or other cooking spray

      INSTRUCTIONS
      1. Boil the sausage links in just enough water to cover them in a deep, covered frying pan for 10-15 minutes.

      2. While the sausages are boiling, remove the core, pith, and seeds from the washed peppers, and slice them lengthwise in narrow (1/2″) strips.

      3. Remove the ends of the onions, peel, and slice in 1/2″ strips.

      4. Remove the cooked sausages from the frying pan, and set them aside.

      5. Wash the frying pan, and then brown the peppers and onions in a few tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil, browning the peppers first for three minutes, before adding the onions for an additional three minutes (you don’t want to overcook the peppers and onions). Put the cooked vegetables in a deep pot, along with the tomato sauce. Do not heat yet.

      6. Spray the sausage links with Pam (or other similar oil) and broil for three minutes per side (or until lightly browned), with the broiler set on low, and the sausages on a tray located set on the middle rack of the oven.

      7. When the sausages are finished, slice them into thin, angled slices, approximately 1/4″ thick. Add the sliced sausages to the pot containing the sauce and vegetables. Heat the mixture over a medium burner, stirring occasionally to prevent it from sticking, and bring to a gentle boil. Reduce the heat to as low as possible, just to keep the whole thing warm.

      8. Slice the rolls (if not already split), sprinkle them with a few drops of cold tap water, and place into a pre-heated oven at 400 degrees for four minutes.

      9. Using a large spoon, fill each roll with an ample amount of the sausage, peppers, onions, and sauce.

      10. (Optional) If you like, you may shake some freshly grated Parmesan cheese on top, and/or some crushed red Italian peppers.

      11. Serve with a nice portion of crisp salad topped with Italian dressing, and a nice Chianti.

      12. Bon appetito!

      Like

  3. Jane Raffo Nocella says:

    Sounds like you had the perfect day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Matt says:

    Glad you had a great day! See you next weekend for Father’s Day part two. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.