Lamenting Our “Lost Arts”

Needle and threadThe other day, as I used a needle and thread to make a little alteration to my fly-fishing vest, it suddenly hit me: Sewing is a lost art!  (No need to re-read the previous sentence.  You read it correctly.  I was sewing.)  My mother taught me how to sew on buttons and darn socks long before I went away to college—where the skill really came in handy—and I still enjoy mending things by hand on occasion.  Over the years, I actually learned how to use a sewing machine, and even made my first fly-fishing vest.  Anyway, that got the old juices flowing, and I decided to make a list of all the things we used to do, each of which has become somewhat of a “lost art.”

1. Writing a thank you note – Now, it’s either send an email response, or a text, or, in many cases, do nothing at all.

2. Writing a letter – Really, when is the last time you wrote (or received) a hand-written letter?

Phone3. Using a phone as . . . well . . . as a phone – Most of us now have a “smart phone,” which has turned us into a bunch of dummies.  Getting someone to actually speak on a phone is like trying to make water flow uphill.  It ain’t gonna happen.

4. Cooking a meal from scratch – I actually saw a TV commercial the other day for Meals in a Box.  The idea is that, for a fee, you can have all the components of a meal shipped directly to you in a box.  No need to go to the grocery store.

Baking5. Baking anything from scratch – Most of us assume that when we buy a box of cake mix, or brownie mix, and follow the instructions, we are baking from scratch.  After all, we are using the oven.  Not quite.  Actual scratch baking involves a recipe, which requires measuring, sifting, chopping, timing, etc.

6. Watching a live TV show – No one I know does this anymore.  We all record our favorite programs, and watch them at a time that is more convenient for us—and always without commercials.  

7. Having a face-to-face dinner conversation – We’re all familiar with the scenario of a half dozen people sitting at a table in a restaurant, each using a smart phone to surf the Internet, or text someone else at the very same table.  Gone are the days of choosing dinner guests according to the scintillating conversation they brought to the table.

8. Driving courteously – When is the last time you were permitted (or allowed someone else) to change lanes, or make a left turn at an intersection, without a horn being sounded, or, worse yet, a middle finger being extended?  I’m talking to you!

9. Balancing a checkbook – Checkbook?  What’s a checkbook?  Put it on the card!  (I write a check occasionally, but mostly I use the check register to record debits I’ve made with my bank card.  However, I still balance it every month—to the penny!)

Halloween10. Making a Halloween costumeFuggettaboutit!  Buy a costume, rent one, or, better yet, don’t even bother wearing one.  Hey, it’s all about the candy, isn’t it?  Oh, wait, they’ve outlawed Halloween, haven’t they?

11. Keeping a photo album – Today, everything is stored somewhere else, virtually, on a cloud, or in the clouds. Whatever!  (What if the power goes out?)  Anybody know what slides are?   See what I mean?

12. Using a dictionary – Tell the truth, when is the last time you used one?  Do you even own one?  Okay, go ahead and Google it—if you’re not sure what it is.  See?  (I rest my case.)  Any former encyclopedia salespersons out there?  Oh, forget it.

So there you have it, my dirty dozen list of things we used to do that have become lost arts. I’m sure there are others I’ve failed to mention.  Got any of your own that you’d like to share?  We’d love to hear them! 


If you enjoyed this post, please share it, or reblog it.  If you’d like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button located at the bottom righthand corner of the page.  You’ll be asked to enter your email address, and you’ll receive a confirmation email in return.  I only blog once per week, and I never share email addresses.
 
About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Nostalgia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lamenting Our “Lost Arts”

  1. Bill Ramsey says:

    The last time I tried to sew a button back on I needed a blood transfusion. As to the other items on the list? I still handwrite lots of cards and letters. I have no cell phone. My driving is text book courteous. I use my desk side dictionary almost daily. Guess I would be considered a Neanderthal man.

    Like

  2. Way to go, fella! I learned long ago to correctly sew buttons on too. Have mended socks in our poorer days when we were first married. I only hand sewed the holes together tho. Never learned to darn anything. I do damn my income tax form every year tho 😀

    Like

  3. Yolanda Gernant says:

    Excellent blog, Joe. I really wonder how many people will have neck problems from constantly looking down to view the screen on their Ipods, tablets, cell phones, etc.?
    I still hem my own pants (I’m 5’1/2″) and even buying pants labeled “short” is not short enough for me!
    Keep up the great thoughts.
    Yolanda Vella Gernant

    Like

Comments are closed.