Now, I Get It!

In a few months, with God’s grace, I will reach a milestone I never dreamed of: I will turn 70.  By most measures, I will have arrived at a place I only envisioned for others: Old Age.  Next stop?  The Twilight Zone.

All kidding aside, I’m happy to be where I am (after all, my dad died the day after his 55th birthday).  It hasn’t been easy, that’s for sure.  There have been a lot of bumps in the road along the journey.  But there have also been many, many high points.  Hardly a day goes by that I don’t reflect upon the blessings heaped upon me, and thank God for them. Counted among those joys are my wife, my children, and my friends.  Those are the most important of life’s gifts.  Anything else is just frosting on the cake.

However, one thing that I’ve never understood is all the fuss made about the joy of being a grandparent.  Most of my acquaintances of a similar age have experienced this phenomena, and never fail to regale me with the list of benefits that accompany their exalted status.  It never ends.

The first is choosing a name by which they are singularly identified.  It could be Grampy, Pop Pop, Opa, or even Poppy for the men.  The ladies adopt such distinctive titles as Ma Maw; Grammy; Nana; or Grandma X, Y, or Z, in the cases where divorce and remarriage are involved.

Next come the little advantages of being a grandparent as opposed to being a mere parent. Here are a few of my favorites:

  • “It’s really great.  You can have them for an hour, a day, or a weekend, but you can always give them back to their parents whenever you want.”
  • “You can feed them all the candy you like, and never have to worry about dealing with their sugar highs.”
  • “You can spoil them rotten at Christmas or on their birthdays.”

Then, there are the fringe benefits.  Grandparents get to go to all their grandkids’ games, plays, concerts, and dance recitals.  They’re treated to their little loved ones’ handmade cards, cookies, and scarfs (some readable, edible, and wearable―some not).  But it’s all good.  And what grandparent doesn’t carry a wallet full of pictures—or an iPhone crammed with videos?  It’s all part and parcel of the experience.  Big deal!  I just don’t get it.

Did I say “I just don’t get it”?  Let me re-phrase that.  I just didn’t get it—until the early morning hours of Tuesday, November 19, 2014.  That’s when I became a grandparent for the first time, and life took on an entirely new meaning.  I know it’s only been about two months, but believe it or not, it’s all becoming crystal clear.  Now it’s me with the iPhone. It’s me with all the anecdotes.  I’m the one with the permanent grin plastered across my face as I watch my granddaughter on FaceTime, while she wiggles in her crib to strains of a 50s rock ‘n’ roll song.  At long last, it’s me who has finally become a grandparent.

Now, I get it!

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Nostalgia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Now, I Get It!

  1. Bill Ramsey says:

    Here is a sad reality. Many are waiting to become parents as they near forty years of age. Grandparents are often near age seventy or more. Many of today’s grandchildren will lose grandparents soon. They are unlikely to have a personal memory of those grandparents, just photos.

    Like

    • You are so right, Bill.  I am just grateful that I got to experience being a grandfather.I’d pretty much given up hope that it would ever happen.  God is good!  Joe Perrone Jr.www.joeperronejr.com”I scream the same way whether I’m about to be eaten by a shark or a piece of seaweed touches my foot.”

      Read Broken Promises, the newestin the Matt Davis Mystery Series2014 Indie B.R.A.G. Medallion honoreeONLY $4.99 in Kindle and Nook

      From: “Author Joe Perrone Jr's Blog” To: joetheauthor@joeperronejr.com Sent: Sunday, January 18, 2015 7:21 AM Subject: [Author Joe Perrone Jr’s Blog] Comment: “Now, I Get It!” #yiv6431552235 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6431552235 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6431552235 a.yiv6431552235primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6431552235 a.yiv6431552235primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6431552235 a.yiv6431552235primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6431552235 a.yiv6431552235primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6431552235 WordPress.com | | |

      Like

  2. Gerry Simpkins says:

    Well written Joe. And only too true.

    Like

    • Thanks, Gerry!  Joe Perrone Jr.www.joeperronejr.com”I scream the same way whether I’m about to be eaten by a shark or a piece of seaweed touches my foot.”

      Read Broken Promises, the newestin the Matt Davis Mystery Series2014 Indie B.R.A.G. Medallion honoreeONLY $4.99 in Kindle and Nook

      From: “Author Joe Perrone Jr's Blog” To: joetheauthor@joeperronejr.com Sent: Saturday, January 17, 2015 7:41 PM Subject: [Author Joe Perrone Jr’s Blog] Comment: “Now, I Get It!” #yiv2556952070 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2556952070 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2556952070 a.yiv2556952070primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2556952070 a.yiv2556952070primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2556952070 a.yiv2556952070primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2556952070 a.yiv2556952070primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2556952070 WordPress.com | | |

      Like

  3. It certainly is so far, David. Thanks.

    Like

  4. davidprosser says:

    Congratulations Joe.It’s great fun.

    Like

Comments are closed.