Resolved . . .

Okay, okay, it’s that time of year again; it’s time to make our annual New Year’s resolutions.  Here is a list of mine (it could be much longer, but a person can only take so much self-flagellation):

1)  I resolve to get off my butt and out from in front of the computer screen more often.  The last six months have been a total disaster, and I’m determined to do something about it.  There’s been way too much time spent playing games online and commenting on Facebook posts (I mean every word, however).  No more missed writers’ meetings or breakfasts with the guys.  Time to re-engage with the rest of the world (after all, gas is as cheap as it’s been in a decade).

2)  I resolve to get more exercise (this is one promise I make to myself every year, with mixed results).  I had a small excuse the last six or eight weeks, since I underwent prostate surgery in early November, and have been somewhat limited in my ability to actively exercise.  But I’m fine now, so there are no more excuses.  (Actually, I started working at this one last Sunday, by taking a 2-mile walk―it felt great!)  It’s back to the gym, damn the torpedoes, and full speed ahead!

3)  I resolve to organize my fly boxes…again  (for you uninitiated, those are plastic boxes that hold hand-tyed trout flies for fly fishing).  I have too many to begin with, and they are a mess.  This is definitely one activity where less is more.  Years ago, when I first started to fly fish, I carried no more than a dozen patterns―and I caught more fish than I ever do now.  Now, I probably carry several hundred patterns, and, well, I already alluded to the results in the previous sentence.  It’s time to get back to basics.

4)  I resolve to spend less time on my damned “smart phone,” and text only when necessary (while at the movies, while watching football, hockey, or golf on TV).  I think I was a lot smarter before I got this device (with apologies to my sons).  There are only two major benefits to having it: 1) being able to “look it up” almost immediately whenever a dispute arises concerning who starred in what movie, or who scored more points in the playoffs, etc.: 2) the most important benefit of all: being able to carry around a gazillion pictures of my new granddaughter!  Have I shown you the latest picture of her wincing while her mother blow dries her hair?  Here, let me turn on my smart phone and . . .

5)  I resolve to eat less junk food and more vegetables and fruits.  Okay, this is the toughest one of all.  If ever there was a “junk food junkie” it’s me.  Cheetos, nachos, bridge mix, Hershey-ets, chips and dip, pretzels, jelly beans―you name it―if it’s junk food, I’ve eaten it!  The one saving grace for me is that I long ago gave up swilling Mountain Dew.  Now, I mostly drink water―bottled, of course.

6)  Most important of all, I resolve to be a better friend to my wife, and much, much more.  No more grimaces when she merely calls my name (that’s what can happen when there are two retirees occupying the same living quarters); no more putting my dirty dishes in the sink (and hoping she’ll put them into the dishwasher); no more losing my patience when she asks a question about pro football, or about any other sport I make her watch with me (I should be grateful that she’s even willing to watch at all); no more exasperated sighs when she wants to watch the Home and Garden channel―actually, I’ve gotten to be a fan of Jonathan and Drew (if you have to ask who they are, you shouldn’t be following my blog―okay, maybe that’s a stretch; I should have said, if you’re a woman and you have to ask…okay, just shoot me!).

So there you have them: my New Year’s resolutions.  What are yours?  We’d love to hear about them.

NOTE: If you would like to follow my blog, just click on the “follow” button located at the bottom righthand corner of the page.  I only blog once per week, and I never share your email address.  If you’ve enjoyed this post, please “like” it and share it with a friend.

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Resolved . . .

  1. Loved this post! How sweet of a husband you are..best of luck in your resolutions and goals for 2015!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish you the best of luck, Joe. I feel for you on all of them, especially number 5. Those that know me know that KitKats are my weakness.

    Like

Comments are closed.