The Baby Otter and My Latest Book

Allen is a good friend of mine, and I always enjoy his stories. I hope you like it, too.

allenrizzi

I went fishing on Wednesday full of anticipation of a myriad of large trout but also with a sense of uneasiness at releasing my latest book two days earlier.Fly fishing and writing combine to be the counterpoint of my life’s rhythms. 

After arriving at the North Mills River, I was sweltering from the unusual heat but still eager to tie into a few fish. I waded in and tied on a small soft hackle green nymph figuring the fish were bound to be on the bottom. I was right…. they were on the bottom and apparently comatose from the heat. The fishing progressed slowly without so much as a bump (to use a bait tosser’s term). I had arrived tired and the mid-day sun seemed to have whispered, “You should have stayed home fool….” I went to autopilot casting mode as I was quickly convinced the day was going to be a…

View original post 505 more words

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Baby Otter and My Latest Book

  1. A magical moment of bonding with a baby otter is sensitively portrayed by wordsmith and author Joe Perrone, who has the rare gift of melding sensitivity into reality in his diverse books, from hard-boiled Matt Davis mysteries to tomes and essays on fly fishing, the second great love of his life. Wife Becky is deservedly first; and I feel very fortunate to know and learn from both.

    Like

Comments are closed.