Meet author Lucy Pireel

Please join me in welcoming author Lucy Pireel.     Lucy Pireel

JOE:  Lucy, the first thing I noticed when I looked at your Amazon author’s page was the diversity of your work.  Is diversity something that you deliberately strive for, or has it just happened that way?

LUCY:  I guess that just happened. When I’m writing I never know how it will turn out to be. I have a general plot line, but things happen, characters develop, grow, and decide what they want regardless of the fact that I’m supposed to be in charge.

 JOE:  When did you first discover that you wanted to write, and how many books have you written?

LUCY:  I’ve always had a vivid imagination, but truly, writing that never came into the picture until my son wanted pirate stories that weren’t already there.  I’ve written a great many manuscripts, but books as in published material that amounts to three short story collections, Heaven’s Gate (free to download), Red Gone Bad, and A Menu of Death.  Then there is Bound, my erotic novella, and soon to come The Power of Three, first of many more full-length novels to come.  I’ve also had several short stories traditionally published in anthologies and magazines.

 JOE:  Is there a particular genre that you in which you prefer to write, or do you not have a preference ?

LUCY:  Nope, no preference at all, although I don’t see myself writing anything dystopian.

LucyPireelBoundBound by Lucy Pireel – “A young, successful woman finds herself attracted to a man who is known for his promiscuity.  She has no idea he wishes to play with her the way she wants him to.  While working together, they become closer.  When she dares to reveal her wishes, he only asks her if she is ready to say ‘please’.  After she does, the games begin.  But where will they end?”

JOE:  I’ve never interviewed an author of erotica before.  Do you find that some readers of more, shall we say, “conventional” genres are put off by such a sensitive form of writing? 

 LUCY:  Ha ha ha, don’t get me started.  Why is it that people make such a noise over a perfectly natural thing?  It’s what humans have done forever or you and I wouldn’t even be here, had the first humans not have sex, right? So what is so bad about wanting to read, or write it?  But to answer your question, yes I have found that some people who read more conventional genres can be put off by erotica.  On the other hand, there are also very religious people who find no wrong in it and even write it themselves.

JOE:  I know some authors I’ve interviewed say they get the ideas for their books from dreams.  How about you, where do you get the ideas for your books?

 LUCY:  You know what?  I don’t really know.  When I feel writing coming up I just sit and start typing and usually there is a very rough story.  The next step is to expand on that first idea and either turn it into a short, a novella, or even a full length novel. The power of three started out as a piece of flash fiction, but it’s done and in it’s final round of beta-reading before it goes to the editor it has a word count of 92K.

JOE:  Who are your favorite authors and is there any one author whose work has influenced your own? 

 LUCY:  I quite like Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Stephen King, Clive Barker, Frankie Fullwood, RJ Askew, Hunter S Jones, John Cameron McClain, Milan Kundera, and Roald Dahl.  I can’t really say that any one of those names has influenced my writing, unless maybe it was Stephen King and his opinion on adverbs. 🙂

 JOE: What are you currently working on?

 LUCY:   😄 A novel called The Power of Three.  It is a supernatural, crime, romance, erotic novel and I plan to have it published by July this year.  To fund the marketing campaign I’m planning, I am currently running a crowd-funding campaign on Indiegogo. http://igg.me/at/OriginsRevealed/x/5686782

JOE:  Have considered writing a screenplay, and if so, which of your books would it be for?  Who would you cast as the main character or characters?

LUCY:  I actually ‘see’ all my work as a movie in my head, it’s how my reading works, too.  Very visual, but I’ve never considered writing a screenplay.  If any one of my pieces would be turned into a movie I’d go for Red Gone Bad and have a whole series of fairy tales to counter balance the Disney sweetness they’ve gotten over time.  Main characters? Helena Bonham-Carter should be one of the heroines, but the rest? I’ve no idea.  I’m not really a film buff and have no idea who the actresses are these days.

 JOE:  Before I forget, I know you are involved with something called Indiegogo.   Can you tell us exactly what that is, and how your are involved with it?

LUCY:  Indiegogo is a crowd-funding site on which any artist, or inventor, or athlete can start a campaign to raise funds to pay for their project.  For example the Jamaican bobsled team had a campaign running to pay for their trip to Sochi.  I helped fund that one, and another author, Wendy Strain, currently has a campaign to pay for her trips she needs to make to do the research for her book.

My campaign is to pay for a huge marketing campaign when The Power of Three will be released. I plan to hire a social media marketing bureau and have my novel be seen with the traditionally published new books without going bankrupt over it.  Also I’d like to pay for cover design and the editor.  Those costs are normally coming out of my savings or from the earnings from the other books already out, but for this new novel, editing will be so much more expensive that a bit of help in carrying these necessary costs would be very welcome.

JOE:  I understand that you live in the UK.  Where in the UK do you live, and have you ever traveled outside of your homeland?  Also, is there a particular place that you’ve never been to, but have always wanted to go?

 LUCY:  I’m only living in the UK since a year, but I love it here.  Before, I lived in The Netherlands.  I’ve never been to Japan, but would love to go there one day.

JOE:  If you weren’t an author, what else would you love to do?

LUCY:  Teach yoga! Oh, wait I do that too! 😄

JOE:   When you’re not writing, what kinds of things do you enjoy doing?

 LUCY:  Reading, walking, and of course yoga!

 JOE:  Do you have a website and are you on other social media sites where readers can follow your activities and your writing?

 LUCY:  Ha! Of course I have a website.  It’s www.lucypireel.com.  I also have a blog All That’s Written.   I’m on Facebook aka The Evil Book of Faces, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+, and Goodreads.  I’m on more social media sites or just author sites, but to list them all would be over the top. If people want to find me on any other site Google me and I’m not that hard to find, because on every site I’m just Lucy Pireel.

JOE:  Where can readers find your books?

LUCY:  On Kobo, Amazon, Smashwords, iTunes, Whitcouls, FNAC (France), B&N, Diesel, CreateSpace (for paperbacks), Flipkart (India), and Nook.

JOE:  Well, Lucy, it’s certainly been a pleasure getting to know you and your work. I hope readers will follow you and support your work.  Thanks for being our guest.

NOTE: Joe Perrone Jr is the author of the highly-successful Matt Davis Mystery Series: As the Twig is BentOpening Day (a 2012 Indie B.R.A.G. medallion winner), Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises.  All four are available in paperback and E-book.  As the Twig is Bent and Opening Day are also in audiobook, with Twice Bitten and Broken Promises soon to follow.

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Meet author Lucy Pireel

  1. Mari Collier says:

    I so enjoyed reading your answers to an interview! Very nice. Best of luck on your fund raising. I hope it works for you. Oh, yes, I did Tweet as usual.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Lucy, Joe, great interview. Kharis Macey

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great interview both og you and it was good to find out more about what makes Lucy tick.

    Like

  4. LucyPireel says:

    Thanks for having me on your blog Joe, it was a pleasure answering your questions. 🙂

    Like

  5. Lucy is a great little author and I admire her work – but don’t tell her I told you that or she’ll go all soppy 😀

    Like

  6. LucyPireel says:

    Reblogged this on All That's Written … and commented:
    I hardly ever talk about me, but I’ve been interviewed by Joe Perrone, the author that was a guest on here not so very long ago, and … Well read it yourself and find out.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.