Film Fails to Deliver…

I’ve decided to do a good deed and spare potential viewers the agony I was exposed to in watching The Door in the Floor, a 2004 movie starring Jeff Bridges and Kim Basinger, based upon a novel by John Irving.  Here is my review:

With all due respect to the opinion of the late Roger Ebert, who professed to like this film, in my humble opinion this movie was a disaster.
The direction was ponderous and awkward, even agonizingly slow at times.  The music was mostly inappropriate, and downright comical in places.  The story is one of a broken marriage, the result of an unfortunate accident that occurs prior to the beginning of the story.  Ted Cole (Bridges) is a frustrated novelist, who finds success writing children’s books (most notably one entitled The Door in the Floor).  Without giving away too much, the plot involves Cole hiring a young man to act as his writing assistant while he and his wife have a trial separation.  The couple has a young daughter, conceived late in their marriage to fill the void left by the death of the couple’s two sons.  Cole is a womanizer and needs the young man primarily to drive him to his various assignations because his license has been suspended.  The plot is quite unclear and very convoluted, although the loose ends are eventually tied up at the conclusion of the film.  I love character-driven movies, but the characters in this one are so dysfunctional and unlikable it is nearly impossible to care about them.  I feel as though I were intellectually raped for an hour and a half (or however long this passion play lasted).  I love both Jeff Bridges and Kim Basinger, but for the life of me I can’t understand why they ever consented to appear in this film.
Still curious? Watch this clunker at your own peril.  You’ve been warned.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0348593/

NOTE: Joe Perrone Jr is the author of the highly-successful Matt Davis Mystery Series: As the Twig is BentOpening Day (a 2012 Indie B.R.A.G. medallion winner), Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises.  All four are available in paperback and E-book.  As the Twig is Bent and Opening Day are also in audiobook, with Twice Bitten and Broken Promises soon to follow.

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in In my opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.