A Good Review Can Make It All Worthwhile…

NewFrontCoverAsTheTwigIsBent

Yesterday, I received the very first review I have ever received from a reader in the UK for my initial Matt Davis mystery, As the Twig is Bent.  By conservative estimates, the book has been available to UK readers for several years and, up until now, had never received even one review – positive or negative.  However, it was worth the wait.  (I am not posting the review itself here, but if you would like to read it, just click on this LINK and you’ll understand why I have decided to write about it.)  The significance of this particular review, aside from its being five-stars, is that it was totally unsolicited and reflected precisely what I wanted a reader to take away from my book since its release.  Instead of focusing on my grammar usage (either good or bad), or whether or not there were any “typos” or other errors, it honed in on what made this book enjoyable for the reader.  In short, it was what every review ought to be, but few ever are.  It was constructive, positive, and honest.  I actually printed the review and took it to bed with me so I could share it with my wife, that’s how much it meant to me.  And that brings me to the question that I am often asked by interviewers: Why do you write?  The answer is complex.  Like anyone who has made writing his or her career choice, I write to make a living (okay, truth be told, I supplement my Social Security with the royalties from my books).  I also write to satisfy that creative slavedriver that lives inside my ADHD afflicted mind.  But overwhelmingly I write for the satisfaction I get in connecting with others, and knowing that at any given moment, somewhere, someone is enjoying what I wrote.  So, when someone, especially a reader all the way “across the pond” in the UK takes the time to post that first five-star review, it truly does “make it all worthwhile.”

What are your feelings about reviews?  Are they important to you?  Do you read them?  Do you write them?

Book Reviews  Readers  Writing

About AuthorJoePerroneJr

I am a former professional fly-fishing guide, and I write the Matt Davis Mystery Series, which presently consists of four books: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day, Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises. The series is set in the real town of Roscoe, NY, in the Catskill Mountains, where I guided for ten years. I love fly fishing, movies, cooking (and eating), and music. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit my website at: http://www.joeperronejr.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.